Introducing the winners of the 2017 Dreamtime Awards

2017 dreamtime awards

On Friday night some of the most influential Indigenous people from across the country converged on Sydney for the very first National Dreamtime Awards.

The Dreamtime Awards have helped to fill a profound void in recognising Indigenous achievements ever since the Deadly awards ended back in 2014 after heavy Indigenous funding cuts from the federal government.

The event held at The Star Event Centre was an overwhelming success that has received nothing but praise by everyone who attended. The awards are an excellent way of honouring the work and acheivements of our people.

Not only do the awards honour the nominees and winners, the awards also put individuals and businesses into the national spotlight. Click on the links below to learn more about this years winners that includes Harvard University students, community empowerment leaders, activists, Indigenous meats businesses, athletes and entertainers.

In total there were 18 awards:

Dreamtime Person of the Year – Clinton Pryor
Dreamtime Lifetime Achievement – Rachel Perkins
Dreamtime Elder – Uncle Bill Yidumduma Harney
Male Music Artist РGawurra 
Female Music Artist – Jessica Mauboy
Male Actor – Rob Collins
Female Actor – Shari Sebbens
Media Person of the Year – Stan Grant
Male Sportsperson – Eddie Betts
Female Sportsperson – Ashleigh Barty
International Sportsperson – Patty Mills
Best New Sports Talent – Josh Addo-Carr
Community Person – Jeffery Amatto
Business of the Year – Something Wild
Community Organisation – Miromaa
Teacher of the Year – Nathan Towney
Institute of the Year – ACU Yalbalinga Indigenous Higher Education Unit
Student of the Year – Jessa Rogers



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.